Posted by: fburnett | April 19, 2008

Movies and food.

Last week I mentioned  the post of one of my colleagues who wrote on humor and “in-jokes” used to teach in her profession. I promised to carry on her legacy. Here is the post to link movies to food…finally. Sorry it took so long.

The James Beard Foundation recently recognized some great books. Of course, my favorite would have to be:

Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads: New Techniques, Extraordinary Flavor
by Peter Reinhart
(Ten Speed Press)

Absolutely my idol, and all my colleagues as well, when it comes to writing excellent baking books, he’s already won in our eyes. We will still wait with baited breath till June 8th when they announce the winners. As I was reading down the list of great books, I came across the nomination for slate magazine. It was listed on multimedia writing on food:

Sara Dickerman
Slate Magazine
“A Chef’s So-Called Life: What Movies Get Right-and Wrong-About Life in the Kitchen”

When I went to the magazine, I thought to myself, Eureka, this is what I’m looking for! This is a great homework critique assignment for culinary educators. And fun for the students as well. Hope you have as much fun watching as I did. I didn’t even see most of the movies… yet…

Responses

  1. […] fburnett placed an interesting blog post on Movies and food.Here’s a brief overviewLast week I mentioned the post of one of my colleagues who wrote on humor and “in-jokes” used to teach in her profession. I promised to carry on her legacy. Here is the post to link movies to food…finally. Sorry it took so long. … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

